The Seaside Writers Conference is proud to offer two scholarships to students from the University of Mississippi MFA program every year, and we are also proud to be nearly doubling our financial aid this year with TWO Fiction Fellowships, ONE Poetry Fellowship, and ONE CNF Fellowship, as well as ONE CNF/Fiction Scholarship, and ONE Scholarship for Veterans. Applications for the 2017 conference have closed, but check back often for 2018 conference information.

Don’t forget:  AWP members can apply for $500 scholarships* through their site:  AWP Member Scholarships

*We are proud AWP conference members, but this AWP scholarship is not sponsored by SWC, and SWC does not have any affiliation with judging or award. This opportunity would apply to the conference fee.

Current Seaside Writers Conference Financial Aid Opportunities

Creative Nonfiction Fellowship
Creative Nonfiction or Fiction Scholarship
Fiction Fellowship
Fiction Fellowship
Poetry Fellowship
Poetry or Fiction Veteran Scholarship

Announcing the 2017 University of Mississippi Scholars

Jennifer Key
Jennifer Key - University of Mississippi Seaside Scholar in Poetry

Jennifer Key was a Diane Middlebrook Fellow at the University of Wisconsin and a Henry Hoyns Fellow at the University of Virginia. Her work has appeared in Callaloo, The Carolina Quarterly, The Hopkins Review, and The Southwest Review. In 2013 The University of Tampa Press published her poetry collection The Old Dominion as winner of the Tampa Review Poetry Prize. She has taught at Southern Methodist University, the University of North Carolina at Pembroke, and in the MFA program at Southern Illinois University. She currently holds a John and Renée Grisham Fellowship in poetry at the University of Mississippi.

Elsa Nekola
Elsa Nekola - University of Mississippi Scholar in Fiction

Elsa Nekola is a writer from Wisconsin. She is currently a candidate for her MFA in fiction at the University of Mississippi. Her work has been featured in Rosebud Magazine and is forthcoming in Midwestern Gothic.

Our fellowship/scholarship selection procedures follow the CLMP Contest Code of Ethics:

CLMP’s community of independent literary publishers believe that ethical contests serve our shared goal: to connect writers and readers by publishing exceptional writing. We believe that intent to act ethically, clarity of guidelines, and transparency of process form the foundation of an ethical contest. To that end, we agree to 1) conduct our contests as ethically as possible and to address any unethical behavior on the part of our readers, judges, or editors; 2) to provide clear and specific contest guidelines — defining conflict of interest for all parties involved; and 3) to make the mechanics of our selection process available to the public. This Code recognizes that different contest models produce different results, but that each model can be run ethically. We have adopted this Code to reinforce our integrity and dedication as a publishing community and to ensure that our contests contribute to a vibrant literary heritage.

SWC Financial Aid selection process:
Round one of judging: creative pieces are blind read by anonymous readers (these change every year) who are asked only to score manuscripts.

Final round: professionals blind-score finalists in each genre. Faculty and directors are not a part of the selection process, and the composite scores from selected professional readers are the sole evaluative tool for selection, and CV/resume are used only to confirm winner eligibility.

Sponsor of the Seaside Writers Conference




Contact Us:

For more information email: